ICC T20 World Cup: 5 Facts You Should Definitely Know

Cricket is the second most popular sport in the world and it is the soul of the game that cricket fans love more than the game itself. Cricket has truly evolved over the years with its long 143 years history. From its first recorded test match played in the year 1877, to its present Cricket World Cup (ODI) in 2019, the enthralling game of cricket brings its more than 2.5 billion fans together!

One of the most popular and youngest cricket format (international) is the twenty20. Since the first T20 World Cup in 2007 to the upcoming T20 World Cup 2020, there have been numerous gorgeous moments in the world of T20 World Cup international cricket. Let’s take you through some of the most interesting and surprising facts of T20 World Cup.

Host Countries of the Cricket World Cup (ODI/WC T20)
England is the only country that has hosted the highest number of World Cup tournaments that is five times in 1975, 1979, 1983, 1999 and 2019 compared to any other country. They hosted the ICC World T20 in 2009 as well. Australia will be hosting the seventh T20 World Cup 2020 from 18 October – 15 November 2020.

Winners of the Cricket World Cup and T20 World Cup
There have been 12 Cricket World Cup tournaments held till date with 6 T20 World Cup tournaments as of now. Australia is the most successful country with 5 World Cups wins and as runners- up in the T20 World Cup 2010. West Indies won the first two World Cup tournaments (ODI), and India have also won it two times. India won the T20 World Cup in 2007, Pakistan won the T20 World Cup in 2009, England won it in 2010, West Indies won it in 2012, Sri Lanka in 2014 and the West Indies won the T20 world Cup twice also in 2016. Australia is yet to win their T20 World Cup, let’s see what the T20 World Cup 2020 has in store for them. Get T20 World Cup 2020 match tickets inclusive packages online.

First Hat-Trick in Cricket World Cups (ODI) and T20 World Cups
Chetan Sharma the Indian player took the first hat-trick in the ICC World Cup in 1987 when he clean bowled Ken Rutherford, Ian Smith and Ewen Chatfield of New Zealand off consecutive balls. The first T20I hat-trick was taken by Australia’s Brett Lee on 16 September 2007 and with only 12 hat tricks being achieved in over 1,000 matches. We are yet to experience a hat-trick in the T20 World Cup tournament.

Highest Score in Cricket World Cup and T20 World Cup
South Africa's Gary Kirsten has the highest score in a World Cup match, making 188 not-out against UAE in 1996. BB McCullum of New Zealand has the highest 123 runs in 58 balls against Bangladesh in 21 September 2012 in the ICC T20 World Cup tournament. India’s SK Raina made 101 runs against South Africa on 2 May 2010 in the T20 World Cup. Sachin Tendulkar recorded the most runs during the 2003 Cricket World Cup (ODI) when he amassed 673 runs in 11 matches at an average of 61.18.

Captains Who Won Twice the Cricket World Cup and T20 World Cup Trophies
Clive Lloyd of West Indies and Ricky Ponting of Australia are the only captains to win the ICC Cricket World Cup trophy twice. Lloyd won the cup in 1975 and 1979 while the Australian batsman won in 2003 and 2007. West Indies has twice won the T20 World Cup however under different captainships.